top of page

Pen & Ink Technique in Action

I selected "21st Century Skills" as my phrase from the course syllabus

to explore the "Pen & Ink Technique" and the "Art Process".

1. Rough Sketches

I started the art process by first writing down the phrase and underlining words I wanted to emphasize.

I did a thumbnail sketch in a square layout. Then I did another sketch in a circular layout.

A few of my ideas included using various typestyles (script, serif, san serif) and cases (uppercase, lowercase, upper lower case, and all caps).

Next I also practiced sketching out a script font.

2. Final Layout

I kind of liked the circular layout, so I went with it. In a larger scale I created a layout to use in preparation for my final artwork.

3. Final Artwork

For my final artwork, I lightly penciled in my layout. In this process I also simplified the final layout. The final artwork was completed in black pen on art paper.

Enjoy!

Pen and Ink Technique by Justin

1. Rough Sketches

2. Final Layout

3. Final Artwork


You Might Also Like:
bottom of page